National Aboriginal Conference

Treaty banner

The National Aboriginal Conference (NAC) was established by the Federal Government in 1977 to provide a forum for the expression of Aboriginal views. On November 12, 1977 election of NAC members took place resulting in 35 elected representatives of electorates throughout Australia. A resolution from the Second National Conference in April, 1979 requested that a Treaty of Commitment be executed between the Aboriginal Nation and the Australian Government. The NAC decided that the agreement should have an Aboriginal name - the Makarrata - and set up a special committee to ask Aboriginals what they would like to see in the Makarrata.

Papers presented by Cedric Jacobs at the International NGO Conference on Indigenous Peoples and the Land. Palais des Nations - Geneva Switzerland. 15-18 September 1981, unpublished manuscript held by AIATSIS Library.
"NAC - establishment, role and functions" Revised March 1983.
"NAC Subcommittee on the Makarrata" Information and letter from Jim Hagan
"NAC Subcommittee on the Makarrata" Information pamphlet.
"The Makarrata : some ways forward." NAC Subcommittee on the Makarrata.
"National Aboriginal Conference Sub-committee on the ... Makarrata : (formerly the Treaty of Commitment) : what you think about is important."
"A basic introduction to Makarrata" Form letter from NAC to AIATSIS. 8/7/80.
"Support a Treaty with Aboriginal Australians" Pamphlet c.12/11/80.
Letter from the National Aboriginal Conference Secretariat to AIAS, 14/10/80.
Paper written by Michael Anderson - research director for Treaty-Makarrata and International Political Issues for the National Aboriginal Conference from 1981 to 1985.