Award winning titles

Our publications have received many Australian national and state awards, including state premiers’ awards and the Stanner Award, and have been shortlisted for the prestigious Prime Minister’s Literary Awards Prize for Australian History.

These awards reflect the strength of our writers, who are committed to maintaining high standards of scholarship while crafting compelling stories that capture the unique heritage and diverse lives of Australia’s first peoples.

Monty Hale

Kurlumarniny: We come from the desert

Monty Hale

Winner — Western Australia Premier's Literary Award - Western Australia History 2013

Russell McGregor

Indifferent Inclusion: Aboriginal people and the Australian nation

Russell McGregor

Winner — 2012 New South Wales Premier’s Prize for Australian History
Shortlisted — 2012 Prime Minister's Literary Award Prize for Australian History

The Lone Protestor

The Lone Protestor: AM Fernando in Australia and Europe

Fiona Paisley

Shortlisted — Ernest Scott Award, 2013
Winner — Magarey Medal for Biography 2014

Our stories are our survival

Our stories are our survival

Lawrence Bamblett

Shortlisted — Queensland Literary Awards, University of Southern Queensland History Book Award 2013

Our Greatest Challenge

Our Greatest Challenge: Aboriginal children and human rights

Hannah McGlade

Winner — Stanner Award 2012

The Little Red Yellow Black Book

The Little Red Yellow Black Book - An introduction to Indigenous Australia

Bruce Pascoe

Shortlisted — Australian Publishers Association Educational Awards, 2009

Fight For Liberty and Freedom

Fight For Liberty and Freedom - The origins of Australian Aboriginal activism

John Maynard

Shortlisted — Victorian Premier's Literary Awards, Indigenous Writing, 2008

An Aboriginal leaders quest for justice

Rob Riley - An Aboriginal leaders quest for justice

Quentin Beresford

Winner — Stanner Award, 2007
Winner — Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission, Arts Non-Fiction Award, 2006
Winner — Non-fiction section of the Western Australian Premier’s Literary Award, 2007
Shortlisted — New South Wales Premier’s Award and the Stanner Award, 2007

Writing Never Arrives Naked

Writing Never Arrives Naked - Early Aboriginal cultures of writing in Australia

Penny van Toorn

Winner — special commendation, Walter McRea Russell Award for best book in literary scholarship, 2007
Shortlisted — Victorian Premier's Award, 2007

Trustees on Trial

Trustees on Trial - Recovering the stolen wages

Rosalind Kidd

Shortlisted — New South Wales Premier's History Award, John and Patricia Ward History Prize, 2007

Cleared Out

Cleared Out - First contact in the Western Desert

Sue Davenport, Peter Johnson and Yuwali

Winner — Western Australia Premier's Book Awards, 2005
Winner — Western Australia Premier's History Awards, 2005
Winner — Stanner Award, 2006



Sue Davenport, Peter Johnson and Yuwali

Winner — Best Documentary Sydney International Film Festival 2009
Winner — Best Achievement in Directing for Documentary, Australian Directors Guild 2009
Nominated — Best Documentary, ATOM awards 2009
Best Achievement — Sound for a Documentary, Australian Screen Sound Guild
Bronze award — Cinematography Documentaries-Cinema and TV, Australian Cinematographers Society

Paint Me Black

Paint Me Black - Memories of Croker Island and other journeys

Claire Henty-Gebert

​Shortlisted — Chief Minister's Northern Territory History Book Award, 2006

Last reviewed: 3 Aug 2015